Fidelio Orchestra with Elisabeth Brauß

June 15, 2024 7:00 PM

Fidelio Orchestra with Elisabeth Brauß

June 15, 2024 7:00 PM

Note that this concert doesn’t take place at the Fidelio Cafe but at LSO St Luke’s. Please follow this link to book tickets through the Fidelio Orchestra website.

Among the many traits that Beethoven and Brahms had in common, their ability to convey the intimacy of chamber music in the symphonic space is noteworthy. Beethoven’s fourth concerto is perhaps the most intimate of the five published ones, and the unusual solo piano introduction seems to be setting the tone straight from the first bar.

If the ominous dialogue in the slow movement between the orchestra and the piano really is about Orpheus bidding farewell to Eurydice, we can only speculate. But it inevitable not to be drawn in the poignant music of this short interlude between the first and last movements of this unique concerto.

Much has been written and said about Brahms’s first symphony, what a painstakingly long process it was to bring it to light and the composer’s fear of sounding banal in the footsteps of Beethoven. It will suffice to say that when a contemporary pointed out to Brahms that the main tune of the closing movement had a clear resemblance to Beethoven’s Ode to Joy, the composer’s comment was: “That even an arse can see.”

The pianist Elisabeth Brauß has been praised by Gramophone Magazine for “the maturity and sophistication of her thoughtful interpretations” which “would be the pride of any pianist twice her age”. Born in Hannover in 1995, Elisabeth is quickly establishing herself as one of the most exciting and versatile musicians of her generation.

Providing exciting performance opportunities to the musicians of the future, the Fidelio Orchestra is on a mission to turn the most advanced symphonic works into captivating experiences for players and audiences alike.


L. van Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4 Op. 58
J.Brahms Symphony No. 1 in C minor Op. 68

Fidelio Orchestra

Elisabeth Brauß, piano
Raffaello Morales, conductor

Venue: LSO St Luke’s, 161 Old St, LondonEC1V 9NG


Arrive from 6:30pm to enjoy a drink in the hall bar and take a seat for concert start at 7:00pm. There will be an interval of 25 minutes.

Tickets – available via the Fidelio Orchestra website (click here)

Gallery £15

Stalls £25


Please donate to help ensure that the Orchestra can continue providing opportunities to young musicians at the outset of their careers. Anything you can give would be greatly appreciated.